Spiritual Care Association

The Spiritual Care Association (SCA) is the first multidisciplinary, international professional membership association for spiritual care providers that established evidence-based quality indicators, scope of practice, and a knowledge base for spiritual care.

SCA is leading the way to educate, certify, credential and advocate so that more people in need, regardless of religion, beliefs or cultural identification, receive effective spiritual care in all types of institutional and community settings in the U.S. and internationally. SCA UTS now proudly provides online degrees in chaplaincy, ministry, religious education, spiritual direction, and many others.

SCA Leads the Chaplaincy Profession with the Only Certification Standards Backed by Knowledge Testing and Competency Examination.

University Partners

HealthCare Chaplaincy Network

HealthCare Chaplaincy Network (HCCN) is a nonprofit organization established in 1960. HCCN is a national association with global reach. HCCN is dedicated to fully integrating the intentional care of the human spirit in all health care settings. HCCN is raising the bar for excellence in spiritual care and helping others deliver effective care, by (1) developing and disseminating spiritual care education programs and materials for chaplains, clergy, and all health care disciplines; (2) conducting and facilitating research to advance the knowledge base to guide our field; (3) providing person-to-person care through our hospital chaplaincy programs and chaplain call center; and (4) advocating for the inclusion of spiritual care in the health care arena at the local, national, and international level. These activities represent a coordinated mission to explore every avenue to improve spiritual care and ensure its availability for all who seek comfort and meaning amid life’s profound challenges. HCCN is the world leader in spiritual care research, education, and clinical practice.

Spiritual Care Association

Spiritual Care Association (SCA), HCCN’s nonprofit affiliate, is committed to building a well-trained and credentialed international workforce of multidisciplinary professionals to foster the full integration of spiritual care in health care. SCA is the first professional membership association for all spiritual care providers that establishes and integrates evidence-based quality indicators, scope of practice (required competencies), and a knowledge base for spiritual care. Launched by HCCN on April 11th, 2016, the Spiritual Care Association now has 3,400 members and affiliate organizations in 18 countries.  Making SCA the largest Spiritual Care Think-Tank in the world.  Between its long list of Spiritual Care professors and the depth of its programs into the helping world it is surpassed by no one in the field today.  We are proud to be a part of this great helping organization.

Using this groundbreaking and transforming evidence-based model, SCA offers three types of certification:

Chaplain Credentialing (CC):
For Chaplains who earn the title of Credentialed Chaplain (CC) this attests to their level of competence in the profession.

Board Certified Chaplain (BCC):
For Chaplains who have earned or will earn the title of Board Certified Chaplain (BCC) this attests that they have demonstrated competence to perform all of the normal tasks within the scope of practice of chaplains.

Advanced Practice Board Certified Chaplain (APBCC): For Chaplains who have demonstrated advanced skills in the provision of and leadership in spiritual and chaplaincy care by successfully completing a standardized test of core knowledge derived from evidence-based quality indicators for spiritual care as well as a simulated patient exam that evaluates competency in direct patient care. Advanced Practice Board Certified Chaplains (APBCC) have been trained and tested in standardized curriculum based on the latest evidence in areas including department management, HIPAA regulations, the assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of spiritual distress, cultural competency, advance care directives, patient clinical care, staff support, grief, and bereavement among other essential topics.

In addition to the three certifications, SCA also offers the Spiritual Care Generalist Certificate for those professionals interested in becoming Spiritual Care Generalists.